Saint George East

The Village/Community Council  is a  voluntary, non-political,

non-governmental organization operating within a defined area.

It is the co-ordinating agency for community improvement and

its main function is to promote the interests and welfare of the

community.  Its members, both  male  and  female, are  drawn

from every sector of the community regardless of colour, class,

creed, religion, status or political affiliation. 


Branch Overview

The St. George East Branch Association is made up of 62 Village Councils in the East St. George region of Trinidad. These community based organizations (CBOs) represents specific communities.


Saint George is a county in Trinidad and Tobago. It occupies the northwestern portion of the island of Trinidad and is bounded by the Caribbean Sea to the north, the Gulf of Paria to the west, Caroni County to the south and Saint David County and Saint Andrew County to the east.

It occupies an area of 912 km2 (352 sq mi). The county includes the Bocas Islands and the towns of Port of Spain and Arima.

It also includes the small town of Blanchisseuse and its attractive beach, backed by a forest-fringed lagoon. County Saint George is divided into six Wards – Diego Martin, Saint Ann’s, Blanchisseuse, Tacarigua, Arima and San Raphael.

Prior to 1990 local government was administered by the Saint George East County Council, Saint George West County Council, the Port of Spain City Corporation and the Arima Borough Corporation. After 1990, areas formerly administered by the Saint George East and West County Councils were divided between the Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, the Diego Martin, San Juan-Laventille and Tunapuna-Piarco Regional Corporations.



      a) To promote the interests and welfare of the community by:

    • (i) Fostering cultural, recreational, educational, spiritual, social and economic activities. Mobilizing the co-operative efforts of all members of the community in the pursuit of self-help and other measures for total development.

b) To co-operate with government and other agencies in the promotion of community development activities aimed at improving life in the community.

c) To pool the resources of the community with those of other communities, through the Trinidad and Tobago Association of Village/Community Councils towards national and regional achievement.

d) To monitor and where appropriate undertake the provision of services including works for maintenance of the community’s infrastructure and facilities.

e) To foster the protection and enhancement of the environment by assisting in preserving the natural habitat of man, animals, plants and marine life without pollution.

f) To establish and maintain a Youth Arm within the Unit Council, capable of meeting the aspirations of youth in the community.

g) Membership in the Youth arm shall be for youth between the ages of 15 and 25 years. Trinidad and Tobago citizens in support of the awareness of the youths of Trinidad and Tobago.


Copyright © 2014-2024 TTAVCC All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored theme, v2.5, from